Advocacy

KMEA Advocacy Links

Links To Other Music And Education Organizations

National Association for Music Education Music And The Brain - Some Sources
Other Affiliated State MEA Sites U.S. Army Bands Online Master Classes
American Music Conference Governor's School For The Arts
Kentucky Intercollegiate Band Support Music- public service of The Music Education Coalition
Kentucky Chapter- American String Teachers Association Music in School Is Good for Kids!
Kentucky Department of Education VH1 Save The Music
Music Education Positions Open In Kentucky - KDE American Recorder Society
Wallace Foundation Arts Research Sources for Music Teachers collected by SameDayMusic.com
Kentucky Chapter - American Orff-Schulwerk Association Music Education Links collected by The Open University

Kentucky College and University Music Departments

Asbury University Morehead State University
Ashland Community College Murray State University
Bellarmine University Northern Kentucky University
Berea College St. Catharine College
Campbellsville University Southern Baptist Theological
Centre College Thomas More College
Eastern Kentucky University Transylvania University
Elizabethtown Community College Union College
Georgetown College University of the Cumberlands
KY Christian University University of Kentucky
KY State University University of Louisville
KY Wesleyan College University of Pikeville
Lindsey Wilson College Western Kentucky University

Community Music

Arts councils and support organizations
Glasgow Musicale https://www.facebook.com/search/str/glasgow%20musicale/keywords_top
Richmond Area Arts Council http://www.artsinrichmond.org
Muhlenberg Arts Council http://muhlenbergarts.org/events/month/
  
Community musical theater or opera 
Bardstown Community Theatre
Campanile Productions in Hopkinsville http://www.campanileproductions.com
Crossroads Dance Team Contact: mm.burkhardt@campbell.kyschools.us
Footlighters (Newport) http://www.footlighters.org/
Fort Thomas community summer theater http://www.castnky.com
The Glasgow Summer Theater http://www.facebook.com/glasgowsummertheater
Kincaid Community Theater (Falmouth) http://www.krtshow.com
Summer Institute for Young Artists www.InstituteforYoungMusicians.org
Union Community Theater (Union) http://www.unionct.net
Village Players (Ft. Thomas) http://www.the-village-players.com
  
Jazz ensembles 
Bluegrass Area Jazz Ambassadors (BAJA) http://bajazz.home.insightbb.com
London Jazz Orchestra Contact: david.threlkeld@ucumberlands.edu
Paducah Jazz Ensemble http://www.paducahjazz.org
  
Concert bands 
Capital City Community Band www.frankfortcccb.com
Central Kentucky Concert Band www.ckcb.org
Chamber Winds Louisville/Louisville Concert Band http://www.chamberwindslouisville.org
Community Band of Nelson County https://www.facebook.com/groups/227949197219
Fillmore Wind Band www.fillmorewindband.org
Florence Community Band www.florencecommunityband.org
Glasgow Community Band www.cityofglasgow.org
Heartland Winds www.heartlandwinds.webs.com
Henderson Community Band paul.metzger@henderson.kyschools.us
Indiana University Southeast Concert Band www.ius.edu/music/ensembles.cfm
Louisville Winds www.louisvillewinds.com
Madison Symphonic Band http://www.madisoncommunityband.org
New Horizons Band Lexington KY http://www.newhorizonslexkyband.org
Paducah Community Band
Portsmouth Wind Symphony http://portsmouthwindsymphony.com/
River Cities Concert Band http://www.rivercitiesconcertband.org/home.html
Sacred Winds Ensemble www.sacredwinds.org
Southern Kentucky Concert Band https://www.facebook.com/SouthernKentuckyConcertBand
Town and Gown Community Band (Murray) https://www.facebook.com/groups/252848601395857/
UofL Community Band http://uoflbands.com/bands/community-band/
Union College Community Winds dolenik@unionky.edu
Winds of Appalachia Community Band
 
Brass bands and flute choirs
Brass Band of Louisville https://www.facebook.com/brassbandoflouisville?fref=ts
Brass Band of the Tri-State (Ceredo-Kenova, W. Va) http://brassbandtristate.webs.com/
Derby City Brass Band (currently inactive) https://www.facebook.com/DerbyCityBrassBand
Firebird Chamber Ensemble (Lexington) www.firebirdsongs.com
Lexington Brass Band http://www.lexingtonbrassband.com
Somerset Brass www.somersetbrass.com
  
Orchestras 
Central Kentucky Youth Orchestra http://wwks, Daniel.w.ckyo.org
Kling Chamber Orchestra (Louisville) Contact: shackletong@insightbb.com—Louis Mosen is the conductor and the group performs at Nursing Homes
The Lexington Community Orchestra http://lexingtoncommunityorchestra.intuitwebsites.com/index.html
London Community Orchestra http://www.lcoky.orch
The Louisville Civic Orchestra sites.google.com/site/louisvillecivicorchestra/
Madison Strings http://www.artsinrichmond.org
 
Folk Instruments 
Heartland Dulcimer Club www.heartlanddulcimerclub.org
  
Choirs 
Berea College Community Choir Contact: Stephen Bolster bolsterst@berea.edu
Capitol City Chorale http://cccfrankfort.org
Cincinatti Children's Choir Northern Ky. Satellite Choir http://www.cincinnatichoir.org/programs/satellite-choirs/
Class Melodies Performance Institute www.classicmelodies.org
ECCO - Renaissance Sacred Polyphony (Wilmore) vicki.bell@asbury.edu
Frankfort Children Singers Contact: Linda McKinley Linloumckin@aol.com
Gateway Youth Chorus www.gatewayartscenter.com
Georgetown Choral Society Contact: kincaidclan@roadrunner.com
German-American Choir of Louisville www.german-americanclub.com
The Kentuckians Chorus www.thekentuckians.org
The Kentucky Bach Choir http://lexbach.org
Kentucky Youth Chorale www.KentuckyYouthChorale.org
Lexington Chamber Chorale http://www.lexingtonchamberchorale.org/
Lexington Singers http://www.lexsing.org
Lexington Singers Youth Choir http://www.lexsing.org
Louisvile Chamber Choir http://www.louisvillechamberchoir.org/
The Louisville Master Chorale http://www.louisvillemasterchorale.org
The Louisville Vocal Project www.louisvillevocalproject.org
Louisville Youth Choir www.louyouthchoir.org
Madison Singers http://www.artsinrichmond.org
Madison Youth Chorus http://www.artsinrichmond.org
Madisonville Community Chorus billtrainthomas@gmail.com
Mid-Kentucky Chorus at St. Catherine https://www.facebook.com/MidKyChorus
MSU Town & Gown Chorale brad.almquist@murraystate.edu
Muhlenberg Community Singers (Central City) http://muhlenbergarts.org/event/community-singers/2014-12-04/
Northern Kentucky Children's Ensemble (Lakeside Park) http://immanuelumc.org/music/page.asp?ID=1017#Commonwealth
Northern Kentucky Community Chorus www.nkycommunitychorus.org
Orchestra Kentucky Chorale http://orchestrakentucky.com/about-2/orchestra-kentucky-chorale/
Owensboro Choral Society connie.ford@kctcs.edu
Owensboro Community and Technical College Chorus (community chorus through the college) connie.ford@kctcs.edu
Scott County Children's Chorus Contact: Natalie Tilford Kopp sccck12@yahoo.com
Shelby County Community Children's Choir http://shelbycountyccc.weebly.com/
SisterSound (Lexington) http://www.sistersound.org/
Song of the Bluegrass
Sounding Joy (women's chorus in Danville, Sept–May) Contact: barbara.hall@centre.edu
Summer Singers (mixed chorus in Danville, June–July) Contact: barbara.hall@centre.edu
Union College Regional Chorus vggandy@unionky.edu
Voces Novae http://www.voces-novae.org
Voices of the Commonwealth (Lakeside Park) http://immanuelumc.org/music/page.asp?ID=1017
WKU Choral Society http://www.wku.edu/sing/choralsociety.php